01- My “Why”

People often talk about “knowing your why.” Why do you do what you do? What is your true purpose and why is that so?

I don’t think I was aware of my why for most of my life. I grew up in a family of athletes and always knew sports were important. I devoted a large portion of my youth and teens to becoming the best basketball player I could be (which turned out to be quite mediocre but thats a whole different story for a whole different day). I ultimately was afforded the opportunity to play Division I basketball, one of the goals I set for myself back in elementary school. I vividly remember sitting in my fourth grade classroom and writing “When I grow up…I want to become a Division I basketball player and then go to the WNBA.” Well hey one out of two isn’t too bad right? Not too many nine-year-old girls set themselves a goal and then go achieve it. I knew that was what I wanted, but why was it what I wanted?

I fell in love with the game of basketball as soon as I picked up a ball. I loved the sound of the net after a perfectly shot ball. I loved the rush of a close game and the pressure as it came down to the final seconds. But ultimately, I loved my teammates. I loved practicing and playing with people who wanted to win just as badly as I did. I loved the feeling of knowing that no matter how hard practice was, how badly we lost the night before, or how good the next team we had on the schedule was, my teammates were always going to be there. We got each other through each day, each practice, each game, each season. I will truly hold the relationships I made through basketball in my heart forever.

Fast forward to current times. I’ve traded my long Nike shorts in for a pair of Lululemon spandex shorts. Instead of my big clunky basketball sneakers, I now wear my lightweight Metcon’s on a daily basis. No more practice jerseys but instead tank tops that are ripped off quickly into each training session.

While my environment has changed, my why has stayed the same. I still find my purpose in my team and the people who walk in and out of CrossFit Glendale each day. But now I’ve found this same purpose from a different perspective. As a coach, I have been able to see the very deep and very real impact of CrossFit and our team on people’s lives. I am now not only motivated to be a better athlete because of my teammates but additionally motivated to be a better coach for my athletes. I want to be able to provide the best knowledge in the most effective way, but more importantly, I want to inspire them and challenge them to push out of their comfort zones each day.

My why has become less about me and more about others. My why is the person who walks through the door believing they can’t ever exercise again because they’re too overweight. My why is the person who comes in every single day, despite their number of obligations, issues, aches, or pains. My why is the athlete who pushes for that extra rep and works through the clock each and every workout. My why is you.

To have success in any endeavor, one must not only be aware but be relentlessly focused on their why. It is very easy to lose sight of your reasons for getting started but it is also very easy to quit. If we can commit to acknowledging and concentrating on our why, the obstacles and setbacks become minuscule in regards to the ultimate journey. Find your why. Internalize your why. Live your why.

– Catherine

Leave a comment